top of page
  • Writer's pictureKrys

The Person You Really Need to Marry Is Not Who You Think It Is

Updated: Apr 11, 2018

Marry yourself and love yourself first, and once you have those two down, you're ready for the real thing.


I've been spending a lot of time alone lately. Partially because I've wanted to relax from the everyday stresses life has given me, and also partially because I've been wanting to spend some time really figuring out my thoughts on what direction that I want to take my life in.


As kids, we're constantly told by authority figures and mentors that it's okay to not know what you want right now, but what happens when you get the point where you have to have it figured out?

For myself, as the time of going out into the ~adult~ world draws nearer, I keep finding myself reevaluating the majority of my priorities - one of which being #relationships.

As I sat under the stars reevaluating, I began to think of the things that meant the most to me. After getting out of a practically four-year relationship, I had wondered why I was so much happier living on my own when, for a time being, I had thought that this man was going to be the one I was going to marry. But marriage is scary. It's is a strong bond that can hold two people together or eventually tear them apart.


If there is one person in your life you should be marrying, it is not your long-term boyfriend/girlfriend or the man/woman you met three weeks ago by chance and you've convinced yourself "fate" brought you two together.


The person you should be marrying is yourself.

Yourself from your past to your future to your present. That's the person you should be taking the time to marry. That's the person who is able to make you feel like you are loved and belong. That's the person who will lift you up and encourage you to improve in the future. That's the person that will hold you and comfort you when there is no one around to hold your hand.


There is a moment that lies out there, whether you have experienced it or not, and that is the moment of acceptance. The moment you accept that you belong to yourself before you belong to anyone else.

One of the best feelings in the world is when you're able to meet someone and not be consumed by the idea of whether or not they like you, but consumed in the idea of how you feel around when you're by this person. Because if the person doesn't like you, then what is the point of it all? And if you cannot find the love in yourself, how can you expect someone else to find that love for you?

I really feel that when you take the step to metaphorically "marry yourself", you come to a realization that you do not have to live feeling like you need some other person to complete you.

The only person you need around to "complete" you is the person you see every day when you look into a mirror- yourself.

You will never feel or become "whole" by incorporating another person into your life, but you can only feel whole when you are able to accept that you are whole right now as you are and you have always been whole, however, you have chosen to ignore parts of yourself and therefore it has left some void you seek to become filled.


It's time to stop ignoring the parts you wish to hide, and start embracing them. Love your body image & love your personality because those are the parts of you that are most lovable.


So take a moment to think about all the things you think you need in another person to succeed, and realize that you have the capability to have them yourself. You are whole right now and have always been whole.

It's time to stop ignoring the parts you wish to hide, and start embracing them. Love your body image & love your personality because those are the parts of you that are most lovable. Take that love and embrace who you are and I promise you will feel complete. After you have found a way to truly love yourself, that's when you know you're ready to love someone else.

Marry yourself and love yourself first, and once you have those two down, you're ready for the real thing.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page